State Championships

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

NYSPHSAA annually conducts three (3) State Championship events, in which Section 3 is represented.  A description of each event, and the qualifying criteria is provided below.

School Team Championships:  Division 1 and Division 2

Starting in 2018, NYSPHSAA now has two divisions based on school enrollment and will crown a State Champion for both Boys and Girls teams in each division.  Division #1 is for the larger schools with BEDS enrollment of 600 and above.  Division #2 is for the smaller school enrollment with 599 and below.   To qualify for and represent Section 3 at the State Championship tournament for either Division #1 or Division #2, teams must qualify for, and win the Section 3 team championship event in their respective enrollment Division.   While teams will continue to compete for individual loca Class Championships  (IE-  Class A, B, and C/D), those classifications are not recognized at the State level, and therefore individual class winners do not advance.

Composite Team Championships:   (Boys and Girls)

The composite team is comprised of six (6) qualifying bowlers from Section 3.  Section 3 has established a method to select players to the composite team which rewards players who have achieved “superior” performance relative to their peers, and based on a full seasons body of work.

Each league in Section 3, which has at least six (6) competing teams, will automatically qualify their top average player, who has competed in at least 2/3 of his/hers teams games.  Currently, there are four (4) leagues in Section 3 that meet this criteria, so four (4) positions are filled :

  • Center State Conference (CSC)
  • Central New York Counties (CNYCL)
  • Onondaga High School League  (OHSL)
  • Tri-Valley League (TVL)

The remaining open positions on the composite team (currently 2) are filled by the top two (2) bowlers from the Individual Shootout.